Amy Joi O’Donoghue – Deseret News
The Utah Legislature’s passage of four key measures boosting public policy on electric vehicles earned the state a B-plus and the second highest grade in a southwest region comprised of six states.
An annual report card issued by the Southwest Energy Efficiency Project praised the state for eight clean energy bills passed during the session that ended in March, with four that specifically deal with electric vehicles.
“Among the six Southwestern states, Colorado and Utah have done the most to promote electric vehicles, offering a substantial tax credit for the purchase of EVs and a wide range of policies to support their adoption,” said Will Toor, transportation director for the organization.
Specifically, the organization noted the passage of these bills:
– HB19, which clarifies that businesses won’t be regulated as a “utility” should they offer charging stations to paying customers.
– HB61, which makes money available in grants to retrofit or replace vehicles to meet clean air standards.
– HB74, which makes electric vehicle owners eligible for a $1,500 tax credit.
– HB99, which requires 50 percent of the state fleet be alternative fuel or high fuel efficiency vehicles by 2018. (…)