COVID-19 RESOURCES


GET HELP DURING THESE CHALLENGING TIMES

To help Utah businesses and residents during these challenging times, we have compiled information on energy-related resources. For general information on the State of Utah’s response to COVID-19, including general resources for businesses, please visit coronavirus.utah.gov.

COVID-19 ENERGY SECTOR STATUS REPORTS

FOR BUSINESSES

Federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act

The CARES Act is intended to address the immediate economic needs of businesses and individuals. Energy-related provisions of the CARES Act include $900 million for the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (known as the “HEAT” program in Utah – more information can be found in the “For Residents” section below) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Paycheck Protection Program, which is a loan designed to provide a direct incentive for small businesses to keep their workers on the payroll.

SBA can forgive loans if all employees are kept on the payroll for eight weeks and the money is used for payroll, rent, mortgage interest or utility expenses. (At least 75 percent of the loan must have been used on payroll to be eligible for forgiveness.)

Utah COVID-19 PPE Support Grant Program

The Governor’s Office of Economic Development administers a grant program for assistance on COVID-19 response efforts for Utah businesses.

Eligible grant-funded activities could consist of the purchase of personal protective equipment (PPE), implementation of workplace redesigns, additional signage, new technology solutions for distance working and other items to comply with COVID-19 public health guidelines on safely returning employees to work. A business must meet the set qualifications to be eligible for grant funding which is calculated by the lesser of the amount of 1) the business entity’s actual COVID-19-related expenses, or, 2) $100 per full-time equivalent (FTE) employee, not to exceed $50,000 per entity. Applications are reviewed and approved on a first-come, first-served basis.

Learn More

State of Utah Small Business Bridge Loan Program

Administered by the Utah Governor’s Office of Economic Development, the Small Business Bridge Loan Program uses $11 million in state funds to provide gap funding to Utah’s small business and nonprofit entities. Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $20,000 with 0 percent interest for up to a 60-month period. Eligible loan uses include working capital to support payroll expenses, rent, mortgage payments, utility expenses or other similar expenses that occur in the ordinary course of operations.

Commercial Rental Assistance Program

The Commercial Rental Assistance Program grants $40 million in rental relief to Utah small businesses that have lost revenue as a result of measures taken during the pandemic to minimize the public’s exposure to COVID-19. Although applications for this grant are accepted on a first-come, first-served basis, the program is still well-funded. All eligible entities are encouraged to apply.

Utah COVID-19 Oil, Gas and Mining Grant

The COVID-19 Oil, Gas and Mining grant provides funding to help Utah energy businesses. Qualifying companies that have incurred expenses or are operating at a net loss due to the public health emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic are eligible to participate in this grant program. Grants are given on a first come, first served basis and are awarded based on revenue decline. OED has collaborated with the Governor’s Office of Economic Development to establish program criteria and eligibility.

FOR RESIDENTS

United Way 2-1-1 (Utah)

United Way 2-1-1 (Utah) connects people to critical health, housing, utilities, and human services information available in their community. You can get assistance online or by dialing 2-1-1.

Utah Home Energy Assistance Target (HEAT) Program

The HEAT program provides winter home heating assistance and year round energy crisis assistance for eligible low-income households (up to 150 percent of the Federal Poverty Level). The HEAT Program is open to the general public from November 1 to April 30 (unless funds run out early — please note that the federal CARES Act provided supplemental funds for this program). If you are in danger of shut-off, use this directory to contact your local HEAT office for crisis assistance year round.

Utah Home Electric Lifeline Program (HELP)

HELP provides qualified Rocky Mountain Power customers with discounts on their monthly electric bills. The best way to apply for HELP is to apply for the HEAT Program (see the Heat Program section above) and get the benefit of both programs. If the HEAT program is closed (May 1 – October 31), or if you want to apply for HELP separately, print this application and follow the instructions at the bottom. For assistance, call 801-521-6107 or toll-free 844-214-3090.

Dominion Energy Bill Discount

Dominion Energy offers the Energy Assistance Fund (EAF), which provides HEAT-qualified customers (see the Heat Program section above) with a one-time credit of $75 during the year. Those who qualify will receive the credit on their bill once the HEAT payment has been applied. HEAT-approved customers will be exempt from paying the monthly EAF fee.

Utah Weatherization Assistance Program

The Weatherization Assistance Program helps low-income individuals and families (up to 200 percent of the Federal Poverty Level) reduce energy costs and increase comfort and safety in their homes. Participating households average nearly 35 percent in savings, or approximately $583 per year, after the completion of weatherization improvements. If you are a homeowner, there is no cost to you. If you rent, your landlord may need to pay an elected portion of the cost. To apply, use this directory to contact the agency that services the county in which you live.

Salvation Army Utilities Assistance

The Salvation Army Utilities Assistance program assists the low-income elderly, disabled, veterans, and families catch up on past due bills, avoid shut off, or get utilities set up in a new residence. Eligible households must be below 150 percent of the Federal Poverty Level and someone in the house must (1) be over 60; or (2) receiving SSI/SSDI; or (3) is a veteran; or (4) a child under 2 is living in the home. If you meet one of the qualifications, please call 801-969-0526 and leave a message stating your name, your phone number, which bill you need help with, and how you qualify.

NATIONAL COVID-19 RESOURCES