Skip to Content

Advancing Utah's Energy Future

Energy Research Triangle Grant Winners Announced

  • A
  • A
  • A

Providing Utah Energy Solutions through University Collaboration

Salt Lake City, UT – (Aug. 17, 2017) -The Energy Research Triangle (ERT), a partnership between USTAR and the Governor’s Office of Energy Development (OED), is pleased to announce the grant awardees of its most recent round of funding.

In support of the Governor’s 10-year strategic energy plan, ERT offers competitive grants in two categories: the ERT-Professor and the ERT-Scholars grants.

“The ERT-Professor grant encourages Utah’s universities to collaborate, stimulating innovative solutions for Utah’s energy challenges while fostering emerging technologies,” said Ivy Estabrooke, Ph.D., USTAR executive director. “The ERT-Scholars grant establishes a pipeline of talent for Utah’s energy industry by awarding highly-motivated students who are innovating energy solutions.”

The ERT-Professor grant requires at least three Utah universities to collaborate on an issue specific to Utah’s energy and natural resource landscape. The ERT-Scholars grant encourages training of Utah’s next generation of energy researchers.

“We are proud to accelerate innovative energy solutions through the Energy Research Triangle,” said Laura Nelson, Ph.D, the Governor’s energy advisor and executive director of the Governor’s Office of Energy Development. The educational and research excellence brought forward through ERT provides new and important pathways for realizing Governor Herbert’s vision for energy and minerals development in Utah, powering our future at home and delivering new opportunities globally.”

Winners of FY18 ERT – Professors Grant:

  • Proactive Energy Management Software – “Proactive Energy Management using Weather and Market Forecasts to Enhance Efficiency and Enable Renewables on the Grid.”
    Project Team: Kody Powell, University of Utah (Lead): John Hedengren, Brigham Young University; and Stephen Clyde, Utah State University.
  • Water/Energy Efficiency Algorithm – “Smart Water Data Acquisition and Analytics Technologies for Improving Efficiency of Water and Power Network Operations.”
    Project Team: Steven Burian, University of Utah (Lead); Jeff Horsburgh, Utah State University; and Dan Ames, Brigham Young University.
  • Metal Organic Frameworks Lithium Batteries – “Designer Metal Organic Frameworks (MOFs) Energy Materials for Li Rechargeable Batteries.”
    Project Team: Tianbiao Liu, Utah State University (Lead); Janis Louis, University of Utah; and Dean Wheeler, Brigham Young University.

Winners of FY18 ERT – Scholars Grant:

  • Redox Flow Batteries – “Solar Rechargeable Redox Flow Batteries for Direct Integration of Solar Energy.”
    Bo Hu, University of Utah
  • Halophytic Algae for Recycling Produced Water – “Reuse/Recycling of Produced Water using Halophytic Algae form the Great Salt Lake.”
    Iegor Pererva, Utah State University
  • Cerium-Doped Nickel Niobium Catalyst – “Low Temperature Oxidative Dehydrogenation Utilizing Oxygen Transport on a NiCeNbOx Catalyst.”
    Justin Park, Brigham Young University
  • Organic Thermoelectric Materials – “Energy Harvesting Through Wearable Organic Thermoelectric Materials.”
    Jonathan Ogle, University of Utah